Re: Double Layer DVD Disc Question

Double Layer DVD Disc Question (July 28, 2015 12:20AM) UptownVideo
I have never used dual layer discs before.

Will they "only" offer a benefit of longer run time?

Or can one increase the bit rate (say on shorter videos of 2hrs run time or less) to yield a higher quality video...If the bit rate can be increased for higher quality, what VBR (and max bitrate) would be a good setting for the encoding to play on most players. Thanks.

Phil

Re: Double Layer DVD Disc Question (July 28, 2015 08:14AM) Joe Redifer
Dual layer DVDs are tricky. First of all you ARE making your DVDs with Dolby Digital .ac3 files, right? Not straight LPCM .AIFF files or MOVs with uncompressed audio? You really need to make sure you import .m2v and .ac3 files into DVD Studio Pro rather than let it do the compression itself if you want the best quality. With .AC3 audio files, you can raise the video bitrate up to about 8.3 or 8.5mbps or so and have the low end at around 7.2mbps. DVD bandwidth is only so much and .AC3 files use a heck of a lot less of it than uncompressed linear PCM audio. The max you can do for video bandwidth is around 8.9mbps if memory serves

After that, then yes dual layer offers more space. You need to find a break point which I always thought was dumb, but that's the way it is. And it can be a pain. On Blu-ray you don't have to do that.

Re: Double Layer DVD Disc Question (July 29, 2015 03:29AM) UptownVideo
I appreciate the help from you both...and great info.

I exported from FCP 7 using Export>Quicktime Movie>current settings (Edited in Pro Res (not HQ). Perhaps that's why I am having quality issues with the DVD I made in DVD SP (noisy looking). What settings should I use in compressor for my 1hr 23min movie. Then I can give it another try in DVD SP....Thanks to both again.

Phil
Re: Double Layer DVD Disc Question (July 29, 2015 03:29AM) UptownVideo
I appreciate the help from you both...and great info.