Re: grainy, unsharp poor quality idvd burning

grainy, unsharp poor quality idvd burning (March 15, 2016 07:40AM) drw161
Hi

I am a wedding videographer struggling with the quality of my final product.

my issue is:

I use a Sony Z1J HDV camera and up to now i have been recording in dvccm 50i but recently tried 1080i50i to try and improve the quality of my final dvd, but unfortunately the quality of the end product is still the same.

As i said i use a Sony Z1J, then i capture the footage in to Final Cut Express HD ver 3.5.1, i then merrily edit, add transitions, AIFF music, livetype credits etc and it all looks great in my canvas. I then export to quick time movie then burn dvd using idvd then when i play my films back on a dvd player for tv the footage looks grainy, blurred and out of focus. i have even had combing issues where now i need to deinterlace my footage before exporting.

Am i doing something drastically wrong?

Sorry for the long winded story but its all getting me down.
Re: grainy, unsharp poor quality idvd burning (March 16, 2016 01:59AM) Gypaetus
You shot with a close-to-HD format (HDV) and recently with an HD format -
but your delivery format is still in SD: DVDs can only supply MPEG2-files in standard definition.

There could be a slight improvement by certain criteria (better lens, color transfer or whatever) using a higher quality HD camera, but you cannot overcome the limited resolution of SD of the disk.

Cheers
Re: grainy, unsharp poor quality idvd burning (March 16, 2016 02:10AM) drw161
Dear Gypaetus

Thank you for your response.

Just wondering if i go down the line of purchasing a Sony PXW X70, and purchasing Final Cut Pro X i would still need to burn the finished movie on to a DVD. Would i get better results with the new camera and software?

What would you recommend?

Regards

David
Re: grainy, unsharp poor quality idvd burning (March 16, 2016 04:21AM) Gypaetus