Re: Editing and Storage options

Editing and Storage options (March 29, 2016 09:50AM) Caleb
Hi.
I am using a Mac Pro "cylinder" with a SSD hard drive. I don't have a enough storage, and I have looked at upgrading the storage in the actual unit itself, which I can do. But I am also looking at external storage options. It looks like I can get SSD external drives and this option might be better in terms of using multiple drives. However, the first thing we learned in editing school was to not use external hard drives to edit. I was wondering if this applies to SSD external drives or not? I assume it does, but I am wondering if anyone has used external SSD's to edit, and if this is still seen as one of the big "Don'ts" in video editing?

Thanks
Re: Editing and Storage options (March 29, 2016 10:00AM) Ken Stone Admin
HI Caleb,

I don't know what editing school you went to but I have never heard of such a thing before. I have been editing for 14 years and have used external Hard Drives for media and Projects all along. While some of my Macs have had had additional internal hard drives which I have used for media, I have also used dozens of Firewire hard drives (first 400's and then 800's) for media and Projects. I've even sent media and projects on external hard drives to other editors around the country who have then continued to edit from the external drives.

For the past number of years I have been using a Promise Pegasus RAID 5 for both media and projects and of course, the Pegasus is an external drive.

I see no issues with editing with external SSD drives.

My 2 cents.

--ken

Re: Editing and Storage options (March 29, 2016 08:47PM) ronny courtens
Totaly agree with Ken. Even though computers and drive systems are much faster today than 10 years ago, the media we work with and the projects we work on today are also more demanding on our systems. So the golden rule of keeping your media off the boot drive is more relevant today than it was ever before.