FCP7 and Motion 4 - lost handles on motn. clip

FCP7 and Motion 4 - lost handles on motn. clip (March 02, 2021 11:26PM) storme
I'm a newbie and finding my way - films are looking and sounding good - but im stuck right now!

I've learnt to 'send' a clip to motion 4 from my fcp7 timeline, I've learnt how to add text in motion and sure enough when i 'save' in motion and return to fcp7, there is the .motn clip with its new titles. great!
However I then noticed where I had cross dissolve transitions at either end of the clip, they don't work properly anymore.
I removed the transitions to find the motn. clip is shorter.
after lots of puzzling investigation it seems that as soon as I select a clip in the fcp timeline and 'send to motion project' it then cannot be lengthened.
it is fixed to it's in and out points . so short - and there are no handles - so I cannot use transitions such as cross dissolve.
I must be missing something. you must be able to add titles but still do transitions with that clip?!
if I click on the motn. clip I can see in viewer that the in and out points are at the ends.

so how do send a clip to motion but not lose the footage either side of the in and out points.

many thanks to anyone who can help!
Re: FCP7 and Motion 4 - lost handles on motn. clip (March 07, 2021 10:14PM) storme
anyone?
please!
Re: FCP7 and Motion 4 - lost handles on motn. clip (March 09, 2021 03:11AM) VidGreg
Hi Storme
Here's my take, been awhile since I have fired up fcp7

A cross dissolve involves 3 different clips. The main clip and the clips on either side of it. When you add a x-dissolve it uses the adjacent clips as part of the dissolve. You can only send 1 clip to Motion and the the adjacent clips for the X-dissolves do not transfer to Motion. You are sending the actual video media file of the target clip, the cross dissolve is only an opacity ramp up/down and is applied to the underlying clips.