Re: Can beginners use this site?

Can beginners use this site? (July 19, 2008 09:02AM) Gretchen
I'm a complete newbie getting ready to use iDVD. I want to copy just a portion (not the entire thing) from a "home DVD" to a new disc. After browsing this sight and reading Ken Stone's article "How To Make Copies of DVDs" it sounds like I should download my entire disc to my Mac and then use iDVD to select the portion that I want to copy. Is this a simple solution? I'm a bit intimidated to even get started and just wanted to float this idea by you experts before I get bogged down and find out it can't be done or that there is a better way. In case it matters, this DVD was made by a Pro from old (VHS). I hope it is OK for me to be here with such a basic question. Thanks to anyone willing to help.
Re: Can beginners use this site? (July 19, 2008 09:25AM) johnmcd
My opinion is to download a free program call MPEG Streamclip (http://www.squared5.com/). That program will let you select a portion of your dvd to rip.

For $80 and in my humble opinion a better program, you can use DVDxDVPro (http://www.dvdxdv.com/NewFolderLookSite/Products/DVDxDV.overview.htm?gclid=CIWGyb7xzJQCFQfNIgod9UialQ). It does basically the same thing.
Re: Can beginners use this site? (July 19, 2008 09:33AM) Gretchen
Just so I understand, MPEG Streamclip would allow me to get this job down without downloading the entire disc? Please define "rip". I just want to get familiar with this site. Thanks a lot for your quick reply.

Re: Can beginners use this site? (July 19, 2008 03:30PM) Hauffen
Gretchen,

Rip (ing) refers to extracting video (originally used for audio) from an original recording. As johnmcd suggested, MPEG Streamclip is an excellent freeware for ripping video from non-copyrighted DVDs. It's very intuitive; you select the portion that you want, the destination (hard drive) and the format for the video. If it is for making another DVD, select QuickTime Mov.