Multicam Edit with Plugin Pluraleyes

Multicam Edit with Plugin Pluraleyes (April 19, 2010 09:57AM) Scott Wolfson
I have been using the pluraleyes plugin for a couple of months syncing Z1U's. I have switched over to the Sony EX1 and Sony Z7U cameras. They shoot on different frame rates (the EX1 shoots XDCAM EX and the Z7U shoots HDV.) For this particular shoot, a wedding, I used the EX1, the Z7U and the Canon HV 30 as a third camera. When I initially tried to do a "multicam" I got the error message because of the different frame rates. So I converted all my footage to the Pro Res 422 30p codec , not HQ just regular Pro Res. Anyhow, this allowed me to sync up the cameras just fine. The video was on tracks 1, 2 and 3 respectively and I had 8 tracks of audio (2 for each camera and 2 for a standalone audio recorder I use to sync as well) Pluraleyes even allowed me to do a multiclip because everything was now the same frame. However, when I did the multiclip, I see the video was not long enough to fill the timeline?? And as a result, the clips did not match up. (They matched up fine in the regular sync, not in the mulitclip?) I'm thinking maybe I didn't set my in point right for the multiclip but not sure. The Z7U had several clips on the timeline about 6 compared to about 2 for the Canon HDV and 1 for the EX1.

Does this make any sense? Why would the sync be okay (with the video on different tracks) but not when I did the multiclip to have them all on the same timeline? On a side note, what is the best codec to work in given that I am using these cameras? ProRes 422 HQ? Pro Res 422? Or should I convert the HDV footage and owrk in XDCAM EX for the edit then export the final QT movie as Pro Res?

Thanks,

Scott
Re: Multicam Edit with Plugin Pluraleyes (April 19, 2010 07:19PM) ronny courtens
Hi Scott,