Re: Widescreen shooting question

Widescreen shooting question (August 07, 2008 04:38AM) Tom Stitzer
Hi all,

I've been doing wedding videos for just over a year and half, and I've shot always in 4:3. I know my cameras have the option to do the 16:9. Should I do that? Should I leave it up to each customer and ask them? I know that the black bars on the top and bottom are going to be there if I do that and I also know that some people hate that. I thought that i would explain it to them that the benefit is the wider picture angle.

What are your thoughts? As I said, I'm a relative newbie and wasn't sure about this. Maybe the option to shoot 16:9 on my camera isn't even a good option, is it? The cameras are Panasonic PV-GS300. I know, it's a consumer camera, and our goal is to get better HD cameras soon, but that's another topic I'll need to look into more before asking you guys for help.

Thanks,

Tom
Re: Widescreen shooting question (August 07, 2008 05:31AM) sbeisen
Re: Widescreen shooting question (August 07, 2008 06:26AM) David
Are you sure you're getting a wider picture when you switch to 16:9? When I switch to to widescreen mode in my sony 150, all it does is crop the top and bottom, giving the appearance of a wider view.

DD
Re: Widescreen shooting question (August 07, 2008 08:47AM) Tom Stitzer
As far as I know, it doesn't just crop but actually does give you the wide angle. When I'm viewing stuff I want to shoot, switching to 16:9 shows more on each side.

However, if it does make my video softer, I don't want that. We've had decent results with our videos using 4:3. It is true though that it is not great in low light. For our clients, they understand that their reception footage will be much darker than the ceremony footage and so far, they've been ok with that. We were looking into Litepanels as well trying to find a good HD camera, somewhere in the prosumer range or very low professional range.