Moving project from FCE to FCS

Moving project from FCE to FCS (November 01, 2008 07:27AM) paulazimm7
Hi,

I've been an editor for 11 years, spending my time working in public tv, so I'm not as advanced as most of you , though I'm looking to get there eventually. I've recently taken on a short doc project that's giving me some challenges. I'll explain:

The doc was shot on a Panasonic AG HVX200 HD in tape mode (SD) on mini-DV at 24p and 16:9 letterbox. The producer captured it to his FCE 3.5 to rough cut it and add music and VO tracks.

Initially, I've exported the rough cut using QT conversion, setting it up as DV-NTSC 16:9 and 24p and saving it to my firewire hard drive. I've transferred the file from my drive to my FCS to do the final edit. I left my sequence settings the same as I have them for my regular work edits-720 x 480 NTSC 4:3. The video looks ok when I bring it up and plays without rendering, but two things have happened. It now runs at 30fps instead of 24 and all the audio has merged down to two tracks. The original had 6-8, including the interview audio.

If I try re-exporting the footage from FCE:

1. Is exporting the only choice, since FCE has no Media Manager?
2. What would I need to do differently to keep the 24p frame rate and preserve the audio as separate tracks?

The producer claims that his last editor was able to transfer without these problems, but after reading the FCE information, I'm not sure how he did it and I'm trying not to look foolish here. I'm still really enthusiastic about the project, so I'd be extremely appreciative of any tips you can offer.

Thanks much,

Paula
Re: Moving project from FCE to FCS (November 01, 2008 07:51AM) sbeisen
Re: Moving project from FCE to FCS (November 01, 2008 08:38AM) paulazimm7
Hi, Steve,