Re: h.264 vids not exporting in FCP... never happened before

h.264 vids not exporting in FCP... never happened before (May 07, 2011 03:02AM) macbain59
I'm a FCP noob so have patience with me please. For a few months I was using eyeTV to record h.264 HD vids on my xbox and editing them in FCP was a breeze. All I did was import the recording, did my editing, rendered, and exported. All of a sudden I was getting a "General error (34)" error when it finished trying to export, and the file would be corrupt. I scoured the net and saw a bunch of fixes for this, with mixed results. I tried about 5 different methods before finally being told to use compressor to change it from h.264 to a ProRes 442 LT codec.

This worked great for getting the vid to export, and now have a good quality .mov vid. So i try to upload the vid to youtube, and not only does it take 280+ minutes, but when its done YT tells me that it "failed to convert file". so I look it up and youtube doesn't support ProRes codecs.... so either I cant export the vid from FCP or I can't upload to YT. A few months ago it was super simple, I'm not sure what changed. Right now I am converting the finished ProRes video back to h.264 but I'm not sure it will work (hope so) but regardless i dont want to spend ~1 hour converting, ~30 min editing/exporting, and another ~1 hour converting back all for a 6 minute video!

Anyone help?
Re: h.264 vids not exporting in FCP... never happened before (May 07, 2011 03:12AM) steve douglas
Re: h.264 vids not exporting in FCP... never happened before (May 07, 2011 09:43AM) macbain59
Ok well that works great for re-converting the video back into h.264.... but it doesn't tell me why FCP will now not let me export in h.264 and how i can avoid having to use compressor in the first place.
Re: h.264 vids not exporting in FCP... never happened before (May 07, 2011 09:47AM) Ken Stone Admin
Re: h.264 vids not exporting in FCP... never happened before (May 07, 2011 11:36AM) macbain59